Mohn Prize Winners

345x200 mohnprisen uit

Mohn Prize Winners

The Mohn Prize for Outstanding Research Related to the Arctic, intended to be awarded every other year, was presented for the first time in January of 2018 at the Arctic Frontiers conference. It was divided between two parties: The team behind ‘The meaning of Ice’ and Dr. Eddy Carmack

See the announcement here

The Mohn Prize is the result of a collaboration between Academia Borealis Northern Norway Academy of Sciences (NNVA), Tromsø Research Foundation (TFS) and UiT The Arctic University of Norway (UiT), and is set at an amount of NOK 2 million.

The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding research related to concerns of the Arctic while bringing issues that require further development to the forefront of national and international agendas. The prize is a result of the substantial monetary contribution provided to the research community at UiT by Trond Mohn.

Read more here: Mohnprisen


The namesake of the Mohn Prize is Henry Mohn (1835 – 1916). Mohn was a pioneer in Norwegian meteorology, a field of expertise considered central to the understanding of atmospheric processes in the Arctic. Mohn was the first director of the Norwegian Meteorological Institute and equipped many polar expeditions with meteorological equipment, including Nansen’s famous expedition. He was the great-great uncle to Trond Mohn, the current Mohn benefactor.


Candidates for the Mohn Prize are considered by an international committee, while the final recipient is selected by a board of directors. The board consists of six representatives: two from Academia Borealis Northern-Norway Academy of Sciences, one from the Tromsø Research Foundation, and three from UiT The Arctic University of Norway. The next call for candidates will be released in 2019.


The Mohn Prize was presented for the first time in January of 2018 at the Arctic Frontiers conference in connection with UiT’s 50th anniversary celebration.

Read more about UiT’s 50th anniversary here